Conservative Party votes out Erin O’Toole

The Conservative Party has ousted Erin O’Toole as their leader.

In a secret-ballot vote Wednesday morning, the Conservative MP’s decided to vote out their leader after just 17 months and one failed election.

The MPs voted 73 to replace O’Toole, while 45 MPs voted to continue to endorse his leadership.

Now the Conservative Party will decide on an interim leader this afternoon before the Party will elect a new leader for the third time since 2017.

Conservative MP for Regina-Wascana Michael Kram tweeted in response to the news;

“The caucus has spoken. I want to thank Mr. O’Toole for his dedication and service to our party and to our country. Nonetheless, a leader cannot lead if he does not have the confidence of his caucus colleagues. It is time to move on and select a new leader who will lead us to victory in the next election.”

More from Play92