WHL Pause amid fears of Covid 19 Surge – Regina Pats on the list

The WHL announced today that 15 teams across the league will be pausing operations as the Omicron variant of Covid-19 dominates the country. The Pause comes as a result of multiple players and staff being added to the WHL Covid-19 protocol list. The players and staff have either had symptoms, or tested positive for Covid-19.

In a statement released Friday January 7th, the WHL confirmed that the Lethbridge Hurricanes and Swift Current Broncos have been cleared to resume all team activities, it is expected that other WHL clubs currently on pause will be cleared to resume activities in the coming days.

The pause of activities also includes the postponement of 8 regular season WHL games.

The following WHL teams will have all activities both on and off the ice paused:

  • Calgary Hitmen
  • Edmonton Oil Kings
  • Everett Silvertips
  • Kamloops Blazers
  • Medicine Hat Tigers
  • Moose Jaw Warriors
  • Prince Albert Raiders
  • Prince George Cougars
  • Red Deer Rebels
  • Regina Pats
  • Saskatoon Blades
  • Spokane Chiefs
  • Tri-City Americans
  • Victoria Royals
  • Winnipeg ICE



More from Play92