Federal and Provincial Governments announce 601 new child care spaces in Saskatchewan

Ottawa and the Saskatchewan government announced Monday morning the allocation of 601 new child care spaces spread across 20 communities.

The provincial government says it is the “first step toward delivering on our commitment to increase the number of regulated child care spaces by 6,000 in 2021-2022 and by 28,000 over the next five years.”

The new spaces are in both rural and urban locations across the province and will be in Borden, Central Butte, Edenwold, Foam Lake, Hepburn, Humboldt, Kindersley, Kyle, Lucky Lake, Middle Lake, Mossbank, North Battleford, Odessa, Prince Albert, Raymore, Regina, Rosetown, Saskatoon, Stockholm and Viscount.

Over 1,900 child care centre spaces have been allocated across Saskatchewan since the signing of the first Federal ELCC Agreement in March 2018.

More from Play92