As federal election campaign begins, Conservatives own Saskatchewan

In the last federal election, Saskatchewan had a Conservative sweep as all 14 seats went to them.  That result meant the end of Ralph Goodale as the longtime MP in Regina-Wascana as he was defeated by Michael Kram ending a political career as an MP that started in 1993.

Those in the riding of Moose Jaw-Lake Centre-Lanigan will be looking to elect a new MP as Tom Lukiwski announced he was stepping down in May with Moose Jaw mayor Fraser Tolmie taking the party nomination.  If he is successful, it will mean the city will have to find a new mayor.

Long-time NDP MLA Buckley Belanger is hoping a change in parties will wind up with him going to Ottawa. Belanger announced last week he would run for the Liberals in Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River

At this time, here is a list of candidates in Saskatchewan’s 14 ridings:

Battlefords-Lloydminster: Rosemarie Falk, Conservative; Erik Hansen, NDP; Larry Ingram, Liberal; Ken Rutherford, Maverick Party.

Carlton Trail-Eagle Creek: Kelly Block, Conservative; Andrew Yubeta, People’s Party of Canada.

Cypress Hills-Grasslands: Alex McPhee, NDP; Jeremy Patzer, Conservative; Mark Skagen, Maverick Party

Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River: Buckley Belanger, Liberal; Nasser Dean Chalifoux, Green Party; Harmonie King, NDP; Gary Vidal, Conservative.

Moose Jaw-Lake Centre-Lanigan: Chey Craik, People’s Party of Canada; Talon Regent, NDP; Fraser Tolmie, Conservative; Craig Townsend, Maverick Party; Katelyn Zimmer, Liberal.

Prince Albert: Estelle Hjertaas, Liberal; Randy Hoback, Conservative; Heather Schmitt, Maverick Party.

Regina-Lewvan: Susan Cameron, Liberal; Tria Donaldson, NDP; Warren Steinley, Conservative; Michael Wright, Green Party.

Regina-Qu’Appelle: Annaliese Bos, NDP; Naomi Hunter, Green Party; Cecilia Melanson, Liberal; Andrew Scheer, Conservative.

Regina-Wascana: Michael Kram, Conservative; Erin Hidlebaugh, NDP; Victor Lau, Green Party; Sean McEachern, Liberal

Saskatoon-Grasswood: Mark Friesen, People’s Party of Canada; Rokhan Sarwar, Liberal; Gillian Walker, Green Party; Kevin Waugh, Conservative.

Saskatoon-University: Claire Card, NDP; Jeremy Fisher, Communist Party; Guto Penteado, People’s Party of Canada; Corey Tochor, Conservative; Dawn Walker, Liberal.

Saskatoon West: Kevin Brent Boychuk, People’s Party of Canada; Robert Doucette, NDP; Alphonsus Rajakumar, Liberal; Brad Redekopp, Conservative.

Souris-Moose Mountain: Robert Kitchen, Conservative.

Yorkton-Melville: Valerie Brooks, Green Party; Denise Loucks, Maverick; Cathy Wagantall, Conservative.

More from Play92